2016 B-Cup Trophies

Now Accepting B-Cup Tournament Applications!



Photo by Cory Layman

Bleeding Heartland is hosting our 7th annual B-team tournament on May 20-22, 2017 and we would like to invite your league to participate. Apply here!

The goal of this tournament is to assemble a mix of WFTDA B-teams for some badass derby action–we select teams based on criteria including WFTDA rank, prior participation at B Cup, and geography. We try to get teams old and new, near and far!


Photo by Cory Layman

The seventh annual “B-Cup” will be an eight-team tourney run according to WFTDA rules and standard practices. We will again be able to guarantee all participating leagues 3 games, (please see the example bracket below). Previous years’ participants have included B-teams from Montreal, Madison, Minnesota, Arch Rival, Toronto, Naptown, Nashville, Windy City, Cincinnati and many more! We are planning to submit referee evaluations at this event in an effort to recruit the best refs possible, so please encourage your league’s referees to apply! (Officials application will be available soon.)

The tournament will be held at Frank Southern Ice Arena. It is only a couple of miles away from downtown Bloomington and our sponsoring hotels. The arena is an excellent facility with a polished concrete floor. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions about it.

→The tournament application is due November 18, 2016. Apply with this form.

We will notify you by December 2, 2016 if you are accepted to participate in the tournament, and you will then have until February 3, 2017 to submit your payment. Entry fees are $500 per team. We ask that only B-teams, not home teams or A-teams apply to this tournament. Please send all questions to ilc.bhrd@gmail.com.

2017 Example Bracket:

Saturday, May 20, Day 1 – 8 a.m. start
Game 1 – Seed 1 v Seed 6
Game 2 – Seed 2 v Seed 7
Game 3 – Seed 3 v Seed 8
Game 4 – Seed 4 v Seed 5
Game 5 – Winner of G1 v winner of G3
Game 6 – Winner of G2 v winner of G4
Game 7 – Loser of G1 v loser of G3
Game 8 – Championship game Winner of G5 v winner of G6

Sunday, May 21, Day 2 – 9 a.m. start
Game 9 – Loser of G2 v loser of G4
Game 10 – Third/fourth place game Loser of G5 v loser of G6
Game 11 – Fifth/sixth place game Winner of G7 v winner of G9
Game 12 – Seventh/eighth place Loser of G7 v loser of G9